Announced last week, Indonesia has officially granted visa-free entry to passport holders in 45 countries including China, South Korea, Japan and the US. The visa-free arrivals are valid for 30 days with no extensions allowed.

Effective immediately according to one travel operator in Indonesia that brought their tour members in Bali without visas, the new regulation is applied in Jakarta, Bali, Surabaya, Medan, Batam, and seaports of Sekupang and Batam Centre, Batam, Sri Bintan and Tanjung Uban Riau.

Out of the 45 countries listed, 30 countries are new to the privilege, they are; Austria, Belgium, China, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Japan, Italy, Kuwait, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Poland, Qatar, Russia, South Korea, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UAE, UK, and the US.

The visa-free entry is available for those who come to visit family, travel, do business, study, cultural activities, journalistic duties, transit and governmental services.

All ASEAN member countries plus Chile, Morocco, Peru, Ecuador, Hong Kong and Macau are already entitled to the visa-free entry.

In the light of new facility to facilitate tourism in the country, Indonesia is targeting 10 million tourists to Bali by 2019.